Dr. John Matthews || Eye Surgeon || Retina Surgery || Macular Degeneration || Diabetic Retinopathy || Piedmont Triad || Greensboro NC

Triad Retina and Diabetic Eye Center treats retina and vitreous conditions in Greensboro, NC and the surrounding Piedmont Triad area

1313 Carolina Street, Suite 103
Greensboro, NC 27401

336.272.2625  Currently taking appointments

Patient Reviews

Well Done!
C. Greaves (July 18, 2016)

Recently, after visiting with regular eye doctor, Dr. Heather Oman,I learned that I needed to see Dr. Matthews immediately for confirmation, and repair of a retina tear in my right eye. She called Dr. Matthews office where I was not only seen, but treated with laser surgery to repair the tear before the end of the day.  The caring concern for my eyes now, and in the future has been exceptional. I so appreciate the good humor, and excellent work of Dr. Matthews, as well as his wonderful staff. Well done, and thank you!

Experience with Dr Matthews
T. Lauer (April 14, 2016)

As a retired physician, I am quite aware of how a doctor interacts with patients.  Dr. Matthews has an excellent personality, relates to his patients in a professional, yet very personal manner, and his medical knowledge seems to be quite complete.  I would, without question, recommend his services to all my friends.  And, if I were still in practice myself, would refer patients as appropriate.  As to my personal health issues, I maintain full confidence in his recommendations.

best eye doctor
T. Bennett (January 26, 2016)

on september 10th 2014 i went to randleman eye center to have my eyes checked there was leakage in my eyes dr. ablott referred me to dr. matthews 9 days later i go there they gave me a series of injections in both eyes i have going up there for over a year now the receptionists nurses and other staff i feel very happy to have dr.matthews as my eye doctor i give him an a+ rating

I Have Been Fixed
J. Ackerman (February 25, 2014)

I knew something was going south with my right eye as did my eye doctor... In I went and shortly I had been diagnosed. They did eye surgery during the same appointment and I have not felt this good in probably two years.  Thanks to all who took care of me.. it was a great experience.

Professional Care
J. Draper (February 7, 2014)

I recently visited Dr. Matthews and even though there was nothing that could be done for the problems that I have which was a sudden occurance of floaters and flashes of light, I think they were very thorough and professional in checking my eyes. His staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. Hopefully the problem will get better with time.

KUDOS to Dr. Matthews and the Triad Retina Crew!
L. Morrison (November 14, 2013)
After 2 cataract (lens implant) surgeries I was left with intense "star pattern" and other artifacts visible in both eyes, rendering night driving impossible. With a hearty recommendation from my optometrist I saw Dr. Matthews, who promptly diagnosed the problem which had apparently been missed by at least 4 other doctors. He then performed YAG laser capsulotomies on both eyes, removing the posterior portions of the lens capsules and the defects therein. I described the effect of these procedures as "immediate and profound", allowing me normal vision for the first time in over 2 years! I took my first after-dark drive into town last night and had no problem dealing with oncoming traffic and bright city lights. Through the entire process I found Dr. Matthews to be personable, full of humor and attentive to my comments and questions, obviously caring and anxious for a positive outcome! I will give my highest recommendation to Dr. Matthews and Triad Retina to anyone seeking expert diagnostic and surgical eye care.

 

 

Submit a Review

We appreciate your feedback.  Please use the form below to submit a review of your experience at Triad Retina and Diabetic Eye Center.  All fields are required.  Please do not include personal information in your review.  We will not publish your email address - it is collected for verification purposes. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Name:

E-mail Address:

Title of Review:

Rating:

Choose a star rating

Review:

 

 

Security Code:

type as shown
the letter x, the letter J, the number 4, the letter e, the letter R, the number 2

Making a difference in my life
A Talley (April 10, 2013)

While vacationing at the beach in June 2012, my retina tore in my dominant eye.  I had laser surgery there and was told it would take about six months to see how much my sight would improve.  At the end of four months, the distortion in my eye made all straight lines look wavy.  I went to Dr. Sally Miller, who immediately made me an appointment with Dr. Matthews.  Dr Matthews was very thorough, explaining what he saw and answering all my questions. He encouraged me to give my eye the additional months to heal but also gave me the option of having surgery to remove the scar tissue in my eye.  In January 2013, he determined that surgery was my only hope of ending the distortion.  At the hospital, I learned from the nurses and technicians that many of them and their family members went to Dr. Matthews.  Everyone spoke highly of Dr. Matthews and I felt very comfortable about his surgical skills.  He did an excellent job and my eyesight is greatly improved as is my life because of the surgery. Dr. Matthews and his staff are professional, skilled and caring people who have gone the extra mile for me.  I recommend him to everyone I know.

Excellent Care
S Curtis (February 28, 2013)

Dr. Matthews is outstanding!  A year ago I noticed a very large floater in my right eye and sought the advice of an eye doctor.  He referred me to Dr. Matthews and said "he is Greensboro's ultimate authority on the retina".  (he was right!)  Dr. Matthews discovered several tears in  both my eyes and repaired them with laser surgery.  My sight is excellent and thanks to Dr. Matthews I've avoided a major retina detachment with his excellent care.  I've followed Dr. Matthews to his new office with his excellent and knowledgeable staff and the latest equipment which is so important.  Thank you Dr. Matthews ... you are in charge of my eyes!

20/20 Outlook on Life
B May (February 22, 2013)

In October of 2012 I had a detached retina; I had previously had a detached retina in the same eye in 1998.  I made an appointment with Dr. Matthews concerning the detachment.  Prior to making the appointment I discussed this with my primary eye care doctor, Dr. Groat, and felt very comfortable with the decision. Dr. Matthews explained in detail the surgery, the probable outcome as well as any problems that could occur.  Dr. Matthews performed the surgery, the outcome was very good,also the floaters that I had endured for years are now gone. Several months after the surgery Dr. Matthews, using the YAG laser, performed the procedure on a lens implant that had become cloudy, this in the same eye as the retinal surgery.  I now have 20/20 vision in this eye.  Dr. Matthews is, in my opinion, professional, prompt, courteous and attentive to the patients care and this carries over to his staff.  I would highly recommend Dr. Matthews.

Copyright ©  2016 Triad Retina and Diabetic Eye Center.  All rights reserved.

Triad Retina and Diabetic Eye Center, 1313 Carolina Street, Suite 103, Greensboro, NC 27401
Ph: 336-272-2625     Fax: 336-272-2617  
Currently taking appointments
Triad Retina and Diabetic Eye Center is a ConeHealth Affiliated Practice

The information, including opinions and recommendations, contained on this web site is for general educational purposes only. Such information is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. No one should act upon any information on this web site without first seeking medical advice from a qualified medical physician with whom they have a confidential doctor/patient relationship.
Read our full disclaimer here.